Not so grand
Oct 30, 2014 | 10300 views | 0 0 comments | 315 315 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Dear Editor:

There is more to the passing of Edward Regan.

The last Republican state comptroller, Regan won his final term in 1990. The last Republican attorney general, Dennis Vacco, served only one term after winning in 1994.

The last Republican to win any statewide office was former Governor George Pataki. His final term began in 2002. Since then, no Republican has been successful in winning any statewide office.

This trend will continue beyond the 2014 General Election. Empire State Republicans must begin to expand beyond its ever-shrinking base. The GOP will only be able to win any future statewide public offices by appealing to new, under 30, unaffiliated and moderate Democrat voters as did its ancestors.


Larry Penner

Great Neck

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet